A Heart Circumsized by the Spirit of the Bear

 The bear has always been a totem for me.  I remember camping several times and finding bear sign, and also having a bear mark a tree while I was out by my campfire.  That one was a grizzly and I got into my camper fast, trust me.  He was huffing and puffing, and scraping that tree like it was play doh for him.  But bears have a special meaning to me.  I am sort of bear like in my stature and build, I’m pretty much a loner, and I love my cubs and will fight for them.  I can’t catch a fish for the life of me though.  Anyway, this is cherry wood, and the claw is from a Kodiak, given to me by an Inuit native.  The claw is huge, and I kept it for years wondering how I might honor the bear in a work of art.  Then I took carving class, and it came about.  Doing this work cost me over a year of healing from an injury to my finger while in the process.  I have kept this one since it took a blood sacrifice to get it done.  The heart is larger than a normal heart, about the size of bear’s is my guess.  I tried to be as accurate as possible in making it look human. scan0002 ?????????? DSCN1170 DSCN1171 DSCN1172

About vickiesumner924

. Multi-media Artist.
This entry was posted in Carving, Sculpture, Uncategorized, Wood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

